The Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics congratulates Ufuk Akcigit, The Arnold C. Harberger Professor in Economics and the College, and Magne Mogstad, The Gary S. Becker Professor in Economics and the college, on being named Econometric Society Fellows. 

Man in suit smilingAs a macroeconomist, Akcigit’s research centers on economic growth, technological creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship, productivity, and firm dynamics. His research has been repeatedly published in the top economics journals such as the Journal of Political Economy, Econometrica, the American Economic Review, the Quarterly Journal of Economics, and the Review of Economic Studies. In 2018, Akcigit was named the winner of the prestigious Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award in recognition of his outstanding achievements in the field of macroeconomics and in 2021, he was named a Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.


Picture of a manMogstad is the Director of the Ronzetti Initiative for the Study of Labor Markets at the Becker Friedman Institute at the University of Chicago. His research spans Labor economics, public economics, and the analysis of social mobility and inequality. He has published extensively in leading scholarly journals. He is a current co-editor of the Journal of Political Economy, and he previously served as a co-editor of the Journal of Public Economics and a foreign editor of the Review of Economic Studies. He is a recipient of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship, the 2017 IZA Young Labor Economist Award, and the 2020 Sherwin Rosen Prize for outstanding contributions the field of labor economics.


Share this page