• Media Mention: Michael Greenstone on Climate Change and Coronavirus Stimulus

    March 24, 2020


    Climate change.jpg

    "We can both stimulate the economy ... and we can lay the foundation for a lower-carbon future," says University of Chicago economist Michael Greenstone, who served as the Chief Economist for President Obama's Council of Economic Advisers. In addition to renewable energy tax credits, Greenstone says the federal government should invest in electric vehicle charging infrastructure and deploying batteries to store electricity from intermittent sources like the sun and wind.

    Read the full NPR article: Climate Change Push Fuels Split On Coronavirus Stimulus

  • POSTPONED: Mogstad to speak at Harper Lecture series March 19

    February 20, 2020


    Chicago Harper Lecture: Inequality in the Labor Market: Causes, Consequences, and Public Policy



    Public debate is increasingly focused on a subject that economists have been analyzing for several decades: the causes and consequences of labor market inequality. Most popular discussion concerns the income or wealth shares of the very rich, often the top 1 percent. While relevant, the top 1 percent is only one percent of the population. In this talk, Magne Mogstad will focus on the other 99 percent, answering two important questions: First, what are the key drivers of labor market inequality? Second, how is labor market inequality affected by public policy? The event will begin with a 60-minute Leaders in Philanthropy welcome reception, open to all registrants, in celebration of the transformative power of philanthropy at the University of Chicago. The lecture presentation and a postreception will immediately follow. 

    Visit the official event page >>

  • Akcigit and Bonhomme Receive Named Professorships

    January 1, 2020


    The Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics is pleased to announce two of our faculty have received named professorships.

    Ufuk Akcigit has been named the inaugural Arnold C. Harberger Professor in the Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics and the College. A macroeconomist who examines economic growth, entrepreneurship, and the economics of innovation, productivity, and firm dynamics, Akcigit is a leader in the study of innovation and its role in economic growth. By recruiting microlevel data to inform macroeconomic models, his work unites traditionally separate approaches in the field. By compiling large-scale historical and international datasets, he brings empirical evidence to bear on questions of longstanding theoretical interest. Akcigit’s contributions to scholarship and policy have been recognized by a number of prestigious awards, including a National Science Foundation Career Award, the Asaf Savas Akat Economics Prize, and the Kiel Institute Excellence Award in Global Economic Affairs. Most recently, he was awarded the 2019 Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award. His research is widely cited in policy reports, including those issued by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund.

    Stéphane Bonhomme has been named the Ann L. and Lawrence B. Buttenwieser Professor in the Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics and the College. An econometrician with methodological focus on latent variable modeling and panel data, Bonhomme forges connections between econometric theory and econometric practice—an important tradition for UChicago economics. He has contributed to several important lines of research, including how to accommodate heterogeneity—a long-standing problem in the social sciences—in a flexible but feasible way. Some of the questions he addresses in his empirical work include the study of income inequality and mobility, the role of firms and workers in wage determination, and the joint dynamics of income and consumption. His research has been internationally recognized by a number of publications in top journals in economics. He is a fellow of the Econometric Society and of the International Association for Applied Econometrics, a co-editor of the Econometric Society Monograph Series, and an associate editor of the Journal of Econometrics, Quantitative Economics, and the Journal of Economic Methods. He previously served as a co-editor of the Review of Economic Studies.

Share this page