• Romer Named World Bank Chief Economist

    August 11, 2016

    "This position gives me a unique chance to learn about the thing that fascinates me most - producing knowledge that is useful in the sense that it yields benefits on the scale of billions of people," writes Paul Romer, a University of Chicago alumnus (Mathematics BA'77, Economics PhD'83) recently named the World Bank's new Chief Economist. Romer is currently a Professor at NYU's Stern School of Business, and heads their Urbanization Institute. In the late 1980s, Romer was also a faculty member of the University of Chicago Economics Department. In a Wall Street Journal interview, World Bank President Jim Yong Kim praised Romer's "deep commitment to tackling poverty and inequality and finding innovative solutions" to global economic challenges. Romer will succeed Kaushik Basu as Chief Economist this fall. Read full story.

  • Saieh Hall Receives Frank Lloyd Wright Honor Award

    August 11, 2016


    Citing the adaptive reuse of the former CTS building as an “innovative model for campus planning, growth, sustainability, and stewardship,” the American Institute of Architects Illinois chapter has granted Saieh Hall for Economics its 2016 Frank Lloyd Wright Honor Award for New Design or Renovation. This award recognizes an individual building project with the largest impact that closely adheres to AIA’s Principles of Livable Communities. The organization also commended Ann Beha Architects’ transformation of the building complex for its exploration of “the discourse between historic and contemporary design.” The Saieh Hall award ceremony will be held in SHFE 201 in early October.

  • Neal Receives Quantrell Award

    August 11, 2016

    "There's something in every class you take that could shape your future," says Derek Neal, one of this year's recipients of the treasured Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching at the 527th Convocation Ceremony at the University of Chicago. Presented annually since 1938, they are believed to be the nation's oldest prize in undergraduate teaching. Read full story.

Share this page