• Michael Greenstone Testifies on the Public Health Costs of Climate Change

    Hearing convened by the U.S. Senate Committee on the Budget.

    On April 26, EPIC and Becker Friedman Institute Director Michael Greenstone, the Milton Friedman Distinguished Service Professor in Economics, testified before the U.S. Senate Committee on the Budget on the impacts of climate change on public health and our economy.

    Watch the full hearing here. 

    Read his testimony at epic.uchicago.edu.

  • Magne Mogstad Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

    Portrait of man with beard standing in front of brick corridorMagne Mogstad Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

    Magne Mogstad, The Gary S. Becker Distinguished Service Professor in Economics and the College, is one of this year's newly elected members of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. One of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy "honors the excellence and leadership of exceptional people from all disciplines and practices." Mogstad’s research specializes in Public Economics, Labor Economics, and Policy Evaluation.

    Mogstad has been at UChicago since 2014. Previously, he was an Assistant Professor at University College London and a Research Economist at Statistics Norway. He earned a Ph.D. from the University of Oslo in 2008. Mogstad is also a Senior Research Fellow in the Research Department at Statistics Norway and a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). Furthermore, he is a the Lead Editor for the Journal of Political Economy

    Mogstad is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, Fellow of the Society of Labor Economists, recipient of the Sherwin Rosen Prize for outstanding contributions in the field of labor economics (2020), Fellow of the International Association for Applied Econometrics, recipient of the IZA Young Labor Economist Award (2017), recipient of the Fridtjof Nansen Prize for Young Norwegian Researchers (2016), recipient of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship (2015), and recipient of the Sandmo Prize for especially promising Norwegian economist under the age of 40 (2011). 

    To learn more about the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, visit here


Share this page