• Mogstad: 2017 IZA Young Labor Economist Award


    The Department of Economics congratulates Magne Mogstad, the Gary S. Becker Professor in Economics and the College, on receiving the 2017 IZA Young Labor Economist Award. The IZA bestows this honor once every two years to an aspiring labor market researcher below age 45 to support and stimulate top research. According to IZA Network Director Daniel S. Hamermesh, Professor at Royal Holloway University of London and Editor-in-Chief of IZA World of Labor, the award is a "modest recognition of the remarkable amount that [Mogstad has] already achieved." The complete list of IZA Young Labor Economist Award winners can be seen at legacy.iza.org/en/webcontent/prize/ylea.

  • Heckman Study: High-Quality Early Childhood Education Provides Salient Benefits to Low-Income Children and Mothers

    Heckman 042417 Inline graphic.png

    Recent results from a long-term study led by Nobel laureate James J. Heckman demonstrate that high-quality early childhood education programs provide salient, durable benefits to both disadvantaged mothers and their children.  Together with Jorge Luis García (University of Chicago), Duncan Ermini Leaf (USC), and María José Prados (USC), Heckman's team followed children from birth to age 35 in two experimental programs, the Carolina Abecedarian Project and the Carolina Approach to Responsive Education. Both programs provided free full-time care to low-income children, most of whom were black and lived with a single mother, while children in the control group stayed home or were placed in lower-quality childcare programs.

    By the time the boys in the experimental programs reached age 30, their annual earnings averaged $19,800 more than those in the control group, and they had completed an additional half year of education. Girls in the experimental programs earned on average $2,500 more anually by age 30, and had two additional years of education. These results extended well beyond economic benefits: by their mid-30s, men in the experimental group were 33 percent less likely to be drug users. They also had fewer misdemeanor arrests, and were less likely to have high blood pressure. Persistent benefits extended across generations to the children's mothers, who reported higher earnings during the years their children were in the experimental programs, and even two decades later.

    The experimental high-quality ECE programs cost an average of $18,514 per year per student. However, the researchers determined that the programs returned an impressive $7.30 for every dollar spent in societal benefits including lower unemployment and crime rates, and improved health outcomes. Read full New York Times story »

  • Heckman and Stokey elected AEA Distinguished Fellows

    aea distinguished fellows 2017.png

    We are very pleased to announce that the American Economic Association has elected James J. Heckman and Nancy L. Stokey as 2017 AEA Distinguished Fellows. Heckman is the Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor of Economics and the College, director of the Center for the Economics of Human Development at the University of Chicago, and the recipient of the 2000 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics. His recent research has focused on human development and lifecycle skill formation with emphasis on the economics of early childhood development, and has helped inform policymakers on education, job-training programs, anti-discrimination law, and civil rights.

    Stokey is the Frederick Henry Prince Distinguished Service Professor in Economics and the College. She is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences, and holds honorary doctorates from Northwestern University and the University of Western Ontario. She is also the Director of Graduate Studies at the Department of Economics. She has made fundamental contributions in microeconomics, economic theory, finance, and in macroeconomics, with her recent work in economic dynamics examining why countries catch up or fall behind. The American Economic Association instituted the Award of Distinguished Fellow in 1965 to recognize economists of high distinction in the United States and Canada.

Share this page