The National Association for Business Economics (NABE) announced that Kenneth C. Griffin Distinguished Service Professor in Economics, John A. List, is the recipient of this year's NABE Adam Smith Award. The award is presented "based upon leadership in the profession and the application of economic principles and knowledge in the workplace and policy arenas." Previous recipients of the award include Karl Brunner, George J. Stigler, James M. Buchanan, Milton Friedman, and Gary S. Becker, among others.  

"List recently became Walmart's first-ever chief economist and previously served as chief economist for both Uber and Lyft. His new book, The Voltage Effect: How to Make Good Ideas Great and Great Ideas Scale, has made many best sellers lists, including The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times." 

The award will be conferred during the 64th NABE Annual Meeting, October 9-11 in Chicago, Illinois. 

The full award announcement is available here

Share this page