Lars Peter Hansen
Lars Peter Hansen Executive Assistant: Joy Serletic
(773) 702-4862
Office: Office: SHFE 328 Phone: (773) 702-8170 Email Interests:

Time series econometrics; quantitative analysis of dynamic equilibrium models; asset pricing

The David Rockefeller Distinguished Service Professor in Economics, Statistics and the Booth School of Business

Ph.D., University of MInnesota, 1978


Hansen is a recipient of the 2013 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for his early research. He shares this honor with Eugene Fama and Robert Shiller. Hansen won the 2010 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the Economics, Finance and Management "for making fundamental contributions to our understanding of how economic actors cope with risky and changing environments." In 2008, Hansen was awarded the CME Group-MSRI Prize in Innovative Quantitative Applications. This award is designed to recognize individuals or groups who contribute original concepts and innovation in the use of mathematical, statistical or computational methods for the study of the behavior of markets, and more broadly of economics. Hansen is one of two scholars to receive the prestigious 2006 Nemmers Prizes in economics and mathematics, believed to be the largest monetary awards in the United States for outstanding achievements in those two disciplines.

Hansen's recognitions also include Fellow, Econometric Society, 1984; Frisch Prize Medal Co-winner, 1984; Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1993; Member, National Academy of Sciences, 1999; President, Econometric Society, 2007.

Lars Peter Hansen receives support from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation in his capacity as the director of the Macro Finance Research (MFR) Program under the auspices of the Becker Friedman Institute.