List to Receive The John von Neumann Award by the Rajk College for Advanced Studies (Budapest, Hungary)

February 23, 2024

John von Neumann Award

John A. List, The Kenneth C. Griffin Distinguished Service Professor in Economics and the College, will receive the The John von Neumann Award given annually by the Rajk College for Advanced Studies (BudapestHungary).

According to the Rajk College's website:

"The John von Neumann Award, named after John von Neumann is given annually by the Rajk College for Advanced Studies (BudapestHungary), to an outstanding scholar in the exact social sciences, whose works have had substantial influence over a long period of time on the studies and intellectual activity of the students of the college. The award was established in 1994 and is given annually. In 2013, separately from the annual prize, Kenneth J. Arrow was given the Honorary John von Neumann Award."

The award recipients are chosen by students after a carefully designed deliberative process. This fits to the general goal of the college which is to create a civic community of students where democratic decision-making and deliberation is held at the centre of every-day life. 

The Award has been given until now (in chronological order) to John Harsanyi (UC Berkeley), Hal Varian (University of Michigan), Janos Kornai (Harvard University and Budapest College), Jean Tirole (University of Toulouse), Oliver Williamson (UC Berkeley), Jon Elster (Columbia University), Avinash K. Dixit (Princeton University), Maurice Obstfeld (UC Berkeley), Gary S. Becker (University of Chicago), Glenn C. Loury (Brown University), Matthew Rabin (UC Berkeley), Daron Acemoglu (MIT), Kevin Murphy (University of Chicago), Philippe Aghion (Harvard University), Tim Besley (London School of Economics), Joshua Angrist (MIT), Olivier Blanchard (MIT), Esther Duflo (MIT), Emmanuel Saez (UC Berkeley), Matthew O. Jackson (Stanford University), Alvin Roth (Stanford University), Richard H. Thaler (University of Chicago), Dani Rodrik (Harvard University) Susan Athey (Stanford University), Maria Mazzucato (UCL) and Matthew Gentzkow (Stanford).

Members of the College were inspired by List's "pioneering the use of field experiments in economics  as well as your innovative use of this method to test behavioral economic theory in everyday practice." They were also intrigued by his work speaking to the achievment gap between children and by List's studies on charitable giving and prospect theory.

The award will be presented to List this April in Budapest.

To learn more about the The John von Neumann Award, visit